Airservices supports women’s flight scholarships

24 May 2013

The dream of a career in aviation is closer for four women thanks to financial support from Airservices Australia, the national air traffic services provider.

The four pilots have won flight training scholarships offered in conjunction with the Australian Women Pilots’ Association (AWPA). The winners were announced at the AWPA Annual General Meeting in Hervey Bay, Queensland, on Saturday 11 May.

Each winner receives $6,000 to subsidise the cost of obtaining a private or commercial pilot’s licence. An additional $2,000 is awarded to the women as bonus payments on achieving milestones.

Airservices Executive General Manager, Unni Menon, said the scholarships were designed to support the sustainability of the general aviation community and to promote careers in aviation.

“We are pleased to support AWPA and its goals for women pilots in the future of Australia aviation. Airservices congratulates all the winners, and encourages them to pursue their commercial pilot’s license,” Mr Menon said.

“Since 2010, three scholarship winners have accepted flying positions in the industry after successfully achieving a commercial pilot license, which demonstrates how valuable these scholarships are in assisting these women, pursue their flying dreams.”

Recipients of the 2013 AWPA and Airservices Flight Training Scholarships are:

  • Tiffany Chapman, Frankston, VIC. Flight training at the Peninsula Aero Club and active in Australian Air Force Cadets.
  • Caelia Collins, Sydney, NSW. Flight training at Curtis Aviation, Camden, Check and Training Flight Attendant, Regional Express (Rex).
  • Melinda Eddy, St Kilda East, VIC. Flight training at Moorabbin Flying Services, Moorabbin.
  • Rachel George, Gwelup, WA. Flight training at the Royal Aero Club of Western Australia, Jandakot.

Airservices also sponsors two Private Pilots’ License (PPL) Charts and Documents Awards ($550 including GST) of the geographically relevant charts and documents required by a student pilot for the navigation phase of their PPL training. The winners are: Shannae Terrill, High Wycombe, WA and Jodee Roberts, West Launceston, TAS.

This year’s recipients of the flight training scholarships were chosen from a field of applicants who had demonstrated an interest in flying and were supported by their flying instructors. Applicants must be a member of AWPA, at least 18 years of age and have commenced flight training.